The Dueling Dutch Woman

The Adventures of a Middle Aged Dutch Woman

Spending time quietly…

Of course, the darn dog woke me up again and I had to get him quiet as quick as possible. We kept it to one outburst and that was more than enough. It does immediately wake me up out of a sound sleep. I’m as alert as can be and practically jump out of bed. All my senses are at the ready and I can’t go back to sleep once I’ve settled him down. I think my presence reassures him and that’s what makes him relaxed enough to mellow out again. He’s now chewing on his rawhide bone and being totally unaware of everything. That’s how I like that.

I’ve made myself some coffee to clear the cobwebs from my mind. I do want to be able to think clearly when I write a post.

Much to my surprise, I’m now able to get my denim skirt off without undoing the buttons or the zipper. I did it quite by accident the other night like I used to with my other skirts when they got too big on me. I can get it back on the same way. It does save me some work. I had washed it and thought that maybe it was going to be a little tight on me, but I needn’t have worried.

This has prompted me to order some skinny jeans in a smaller size. I can wear them with all sorts of clothes and make many combinations. At least, that’s what I envision in my mind. I do look forward to getting them on Thursday and trying these things out.

I still haven’t been on the bathroom scale first thing in the morning in my underwear. I keep forgetting to get on it before I have eaten anything, but I’ll let how my clothes fit be the indicator. I’m still curious about the weight I’ve lost and I’ll try to remember to weigh myself this morning first thing when I get up again.

I don’t want to seem obsessed with my weight and my clothes, but when you have lost as much weight as I have, it is a big deal. Especially when you come within reach of your goal. I have lost more than 100 lbs. That’s as much as a skinny person. I wouldn’t be able to lift 100 lbs. Just think that I had been carrying all that weight with me. No wonder I had lower back problems.

Today is going to be a splendidly empty day. It will only be filled with laundry and walking the dog and getting the mail out of the mailbox. Isn’t that just great? And I don’t expect any important mail either. I took care of that yesterday and took care of my paperwork too. A lot of that could go into the recycle box.

Tonight starts a month full of British detective series every night. I can’t wait and I’m so thrilled about it. They must have known that I was starved for thrillers. We will have Silent Witness, Frost, Case Sensitive, Lewis and some other newer series. Oh yes, the Swedish Wallander too. My cup runneth over. You know what I will be doing every evening. I will not be bored. Thank goodness for small favors.

I’m getting tired and have to go back to bed. The early birds are singing.

Have a good day, all of you.

Ciao,

Nora

 

 

 

4 Comments»

  wisewebwoman wrote @

Enjoy your day and congrats on that huge weight loss, not an easy thing as I can testify!
Oh I wish I could see all those detective series with you, what a lineup!
XO
WWW

  noortjeibsen wrote @

I am enjoying my day, WWW, and the best is yet to come. An episode of ‘Case Sensitive.’ I’ll let you know what I thought of it. Have a wonderful day yourself. XOX

  grit wrote @

clothes, yes, i hear what you say. and whether it is the correct thing to say or not, it is thrilling being able to fit into smaller clothes. i never felt right being a larger size, and don’t want to go back there. but maintaining one comfortable size is hard. but whatever size i am, your advice – to go shopping in your wardrobe – is with me everyday and makes my morning start better. i am always grateful to you for that!

  noortjeibsen wrote @

Yes Grit, it may not be socially correct to say that you like being a smaller size better, but I agree with you totally. You just look better, don’t you? I’m glad my simple advice has been so helpful to you. I still go shopping in my own wardrobe every day and keep finding new combinations. All you need is imagination. I’m sure you’re not short of that. XOX


Leave a Reply

